Big size image made smaller but maintaining quality?

Gokuss7Gokuss7 Posts: 3
edited February 2017 in Questions
Hello,

I am new to the Pixel Edit software, which by the way is really cool ( just purchased it hehe ) and here is my first question:

I want to make a tileset in 32x32 usage size, but painting it with a canvas of 32x32 is not very nice since the pixels are limited to paint something really detailed so I would like to know if it is possible in some way to paint a high resolution like 256x265 and then use this for the 32x32 tileset but maintaining the quality of the resolution. 

Here a example, lets imagine its a walkway of grass, still to be finished since I want to make a auto tile out of it for using in the software Tiles:

The size is 160x160 png ( in reality grass :smiley:  ) and what I want is to use it to make a nice 32x32 walkway but to maintain the quality of the 160x160 pixel image to a smaller image size!:

I know this explanation is a bit hard to understand. In other means is there a way to paint with a high resolution and then us this high resolution image and convert it into any kind of size ( smaller ), but maintaining the DPI or quality, to use for making a 2d fantasy game with really high resolution like the remake of Chrono Trigger or something similar!?

Thanks a lot and hope someone could help me out!

Comments

• CandyFaceCandyFace Posts: 620
    edited February 2017
    Hi Gokuss7

No it's not possible to scale down a hires image and maintain the quality in a lower amount of pixels. If your tileset is made of 32x32 tiles, then you can only make tiles that are 32x32 in size, meaning you have 32 vertical and horizontal pixels. The only format that can do infinite scaling is Vector graphics, but that's a whole different area in graphics.

However, you could for example use 4 tiles of 32x32 tillable pieces and put them together, that would give you 128x128 pixels for more details.
  • DanikDanik Posts: 776