The Introduce Yourselves thread!

SouriSouri Posts: 13
edited January 2014 in General
Ok, so I got tired of being a lurker here and I thought I could kick off an interesting thread that other lurkers could post in as well! I've seen others mention their projects around various threads on this forum, and there are some really talented folks using Pyxel. So, why not have a thread where we can introduce ourselves, mention what we're working on, and share how we found Pyxel and why we chose it?

I'll start. I am an old school pixel artist. Started off with Koala Pad on the C64 attached to a blurry TV, and using a joystick to pixel. 16 colours, 320x200 px resolution, no layers, one undo, can't use more than 2 colours per 8x8 pixel block etc. And then it was Deluxe Paint on the Amiga 500 and Amiga 1200. I was part of the demoscene during the Amiga years, and you can see some of my pixel art here:

http://www.tsumea.com/files/journals/souriwork.png
http://www.tsumea.com/files/journals/sourilogos.png

(if you're curious on finding more, you can read about that art here: http://www.tsumea.com/journal/souri/a-long-long-time-ago-i-was-a-pixel-artist

I had a hiatus from pixel art for more than 20 years, and I'm now delving right back with plans for my own games!

Why I chose Pyxel - I got real tired of using Photoshop to muck around with pixel art. The most common short cuts I used was b for pencil, option for eyedropper, e for erasor etc, and it's certainly not optimum or comfortable to have your hands over those keys all the time, particularly since they are so spreaded out. I looked around for an alternative, but since I'm on Mac, my choices were pretty limited.